Pedal yak - Hobie/Pedalfish/Kings Kraft

This is the main discussion forum.

Pedal yak - Hobie/Pedalfish/Kings Kraft

Postby roastman » Sat Nov 04, 2017 10:24 am

Hi all

Without sparking WWIII, I am looking for some advice on pedal kayaks. The new Hobie Compass looks great and is probably at the limit of what I would spend. However, there are options available, but opinions seem mixed. What I want is:
* Stable - I am a newbie, so staying upright is a must
* Speed - OK, small and stable does not equal speed. However, I suspect most of the smaller pedal yaks will still outpace my 9ft Malibu Stealth, which is like a brick in the water (despite my newly improved paddling technique). Not too concerned about going with the tide and wind, but would prefer something that will get me home a little faster against the flow
* Light weight, but not so light that quality suffers to much - I can easily lift the 25-27 kg of the Stealth, but 40+kg is pushing it. Something I can easily load onto the roof racks myself is a must. The Compass still looks good at this point.
* Reverse..... Now, this is the big debate. This is not an option on the Compass, which otherwise looks amazing. I like to paddle out, try some drifts, but if I find a good spot to lurk for a while and have a cast, this may be beneficial. While tossing an anchor may be an option, is this safe on a yak? Pardon my inexperience! I know there is still the manual paddle to keep the yak in position, but it is hard to toss lures and paddle at the same time. I will actually enjoy mixing up paddling with peddling, as the exercise has been part of the reason I have really enjoyed transitioning into a kayak. This upgrade (from the Malibu) will be loads faster than I have ever upgraded a phone or computer.