Kayaking safety hints/requirements

Discussion of safety equipment and use.

Kayaking safety hints/requirements

Postby nqkayaktours » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:37 pm

KAYAK SAFETY REQUIREMENTS/PROCEEDURES

Hi all,

In light of some sad happenings of recent months regarding kayakers, I have been asked to share some of my safety points for kayaking safety that, if needed, could save your life. Some hints here will more than likely will be used by you at some stage in you yakking life. If not already used. But it is better to be prepared and for-warned.

But firstly let me just say that I am by no means an expert on this subject.

However, as a kayak tour operator and guide, I have to implement a safety risk assessment and Safety Management Plan, to ensure the safety of my clients at all times. Both for fresh water tours, and ocean tours. (And during the transit to and from sites, and whilst on the land during tours). These safety plans are lodged with Qld Maritime Safety, and with the Townsville Harbour Master. (Of which, the Harbour Master is using my Safety Plan as a template for others). :grin:

There are numerous safety aspects to be observed, and safety equipment to be carried by you on the kayak, while yakking. I will break these down into 2 separate sections. Fresh water and Ocean/open waters. A lot is covered in both sections.

While I am sure that this list will not cover all of the safety required, please feel free to reply and add to the list to try to cover it all. These are just my lists that I go by.

Maybe down the track we can get all this data, plus your replies, put into one post as a permanent KFDU recommended safety requirements/proceedures for kayaking safety. (Hint for the mods). So there is a sort of pre-requisite for kayaking safety. Thus making it safer for all.

FRESH WATER (Creek/river systems)