CHIRP Sounder Transducer

Show us your Sounders and/or GPS Units in this section.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Dimmo
KFDU Angler
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Local Fishing Region: Port Stephens

CHIRP Sounder Transducer

#1 Post by Dimmo » Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:52 pm

I'm now a little confused, can a sounder with CHIRP technology have the transducer mounted inside the kayak, or does it have to go in the water? :doubt:

TIA

User avatar
GlassedOff
KFDU 1000 Club
Posts: 1197
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Local Fishing Region: SE Qld, or anywhere I can hook a fish :)
Kayaks: Hobie revo13, Stealth profisha525
Location: southside of Brisbane

Re: CHIRP Sounder Transducer

#2 Post by GlassedOff » Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:04 pm

I have an elite4 chirp and an elite 5chirp and both work fine with the transducer sikaflexed inside the hull

Dimmo
KFDU Angler
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Local Fishing Region: Port Stephens

Re: CHIRP Sounder Transducer

#3 Post by Dimmo » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:58 am

Thanks GlassedOff I have heard conflicting theories.

User avatar
AshG
KFDU Angler
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:52 am
Local Fishing Region: SEQ
Kayaks: 3m Dream Kayak Werewolf, 5.1m Ocean Kayak

Re: CHIRP Sounder Transducer

#4 Post by AshG » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:08 am

I have a wet mount 4x chirp through hull in the yak, works perfectly

User avatar
laneends
KFDU 500 Club
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:35 pm
Local Fishing Region: Victoria
Kayaks: Hobies Ivory Revo 16, Ivory quest 11, Red quest 13

Re: CHIRP Sounder Transducer

#5 Post by laneends » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:37 am

You may be getting mixed up with side imaging sounders.

Dimmo
KFDU Angler
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Local Fishing Region: Port Stephens

Re: CHIRP Sounder Transducer