Lorne Reef Today

For Information on how to join please contact member Spanky via PM
NorthSIKer
KFDU 1000 Club
Local Fishing Region: North Queensland
Kayaks: Mirage 582, Kaskazi Skua

Lorne Reef Today

#1 Post by NorthSIKer » Sun Aug 26, 2018 4:55 pm

Had the opportunity to get out this morning on a last minute arrangement.

Went for a quick burn out to Lorne Reef (needed to be back to get the kids). On the water at 4:30am - I'm still relatively new to this night paddling but coming to like it.

Started to hit the shoals a couple kms short of Lorne Reef just as the first light appeared. Soon after a big splash and my fly on the short rod goes off. I pulled in the big rod (with a Halco way back) and as it gets near to the boat it goes off as well.

Now I've (occasionally) had a double hookup before, but never two big fish, and never in the almost dark.

So the fight was a fair mongrel trying to keep lines from crossing over each other (they did at times) and wrapping me up. Somehow, I managed to get the big rod in with the little rod still in the holder and on the end a reasonable mac tuna. It was fairly buggered by then so I successfully swam it over and under the line from the little rod (holding that line low with my hand) and untangled it. The other line was fairly straightforward after that and turned out the bigger fish.

They do give it their all the mac tuna, probably harder fighting than the longtails pound for pound. One of my favourite captures of all time was a fat mac tuna on light (12lb IGFA rated flurocarbon leader) gear (trolled fly of cause). Yeah, i know, stinking mac tuna but if just ran and ran and ran and it felt good to eventually finesse it to the boat without a failure.

No video or photos of this unfortunately as was too dark.