Transducer mount in hull idea please

Want to work on your kayak yourself? Need some help or have any advice to offer?
Post Reply
Message
Author
Felix311
KFDU Angler
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:11 am
Local Fishing Region: Botany Bay , Cowan Creek , Sydney Harbour
Kayaks: Hobie outback , Hobie Revo 13 , Viking Espri

Transducer mount in hull idea please

#1 Post by Felix311 » Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:07 am

Hey guys , just bought my Garmin Strikes Plus 4 . Planing to install my transducer inside the hull . Hope can get some idea before install . Much appreciate if you can give me some idea and advise . Thank in advance . :gu:

User avatar
XDCammer
KFDU 1000 Club
Posts: 1488
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:08 am
Local Fishing Region: Southern NSW
Kayaks: Adventure Island and Stealth Profisha 525
Location: NSW

Re: Transducer mount in hull idea please

#2 Post by XDCammer » Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:48 am

There are some posts on the installation process. Member Scoda has put one up I helped him with, pix and all.

BobbyB.

https://www.kfdu.com.au/forum/viewtopic ... 79#p272428
Time spent on reconnaissance is time never wasted.

User avatar
Steve R
KFDU 1000 Club
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:10 am
Local Fishing Region: Eden and thereabouts
Kayaks: Hurricane Skimmer; Racing TK1 (Mr Tippy).
Location: Eden

Re: Transducer mount in hull idea please

#3 Post by Steve R » Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:32 am

Example of KFDU external search that may find different results:
https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A ... r+mount%22
Omitting the double quotes 'loosens search parameters' and gives different results.
Example https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A ... ucer+mount

Tinker with the key words to find alternative. For example, "wet mount" will find a different method for in-hull mounting.


Personally, having tried in-hull, if I decided to get a FF again, I would go for rudder mount, which would enable water temperature reading, theoretically gives a better image and makes the entire unit more easily removed when not needed.
Cheers,
Steve
(Salmonaholic)
Image
Many men go fishing all their lives without knowing its not fish they are after - Henry Thoreau

Felix311
KFDU Angler
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:11 am
Local Fishing Region: Botany Bay , Cowan Creek , Sydney Harbour
Kayaks: Hobie outback , Hobie Revo 13 , Viking Espri

Re: Transducer mount in hull idea please

#4 Post by Felix311 » Sat Aug 15, 2020 12:23 pm

Thank you guys . Finally I go for external set up .

Felix311
KFDU Angler
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:11 am
Local Fishing Region: Botany Bay , Cowan Creek , Sydney Harbour
Kayaks: Hobie outback , Hobie Revo 13 , Viking Espri

Re: Transducer mount in hull idea please

#5 Post by Felix311 » Sat Aug 15, 2020 12:24 pm

XDCammer wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:48 am
There are some posts on the installation process. Member Scoda has put one up I helped him with, pix and all.

BobbyB.

https://www.kfdu.com.au/forum/viewtopic ... 79#p272428
Thank you

Felix311
KFDU Angler
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:11 am
Local Fishing Region: Botany Bay , Cowan Creek , Sydney Harbour
Kayaks: Hobie outback , Hobie Revo 13 , Viking Espri

Re: Transducer mount in hull idea please

#6 Post by Felix311 » Sat Aug 15, 2020 12:25 pm

Steve R wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:32 am
Example of KFDU external search that may find different results:
https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A ... r+mount%22
Omitting the double quotes 'loosens search parameters' and gives different results.
Example https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A ... ucer+mount

Tinker with the key words to find alternative. For example, "wet mount" will find a different method for in-hull mounting.

Personally, having tried in-hull, if I decided to get a FF again, I would go for rudder mount, which would enable water temperature reading, theoretically gives a better image and makes the entire unit more easily removed when not needed.
Thank you

Post Reply

Return to “Do It Yourself”